Israel classified several African countries as red after a new variant considered dangerous emerged in the region.

South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Aswatini will be put under travel ban, Prime Minister Bennett announced Thursday night. Foreigners will be banned to travel to Israel and returning Israelis will need to quarantine even if they are fully vaccinated.

The new variant first detected in South Africa is raising concern among experts.

Called B.1.1.529,  it presents 32 mutations in its spike protein. Some of these mutations have been associated with a higher transmissibility and vaccine-resistance in other variants.... Read More: JPost