Naftali Bennett Sworn In As Prime Minister Of Israel

By Staff Reporter
Posted on 06/13/21 | News Source: Arutz-7

Bennett wins razor-thin majority in Knesset, replaces Netanyahu as PM. Yesh Atid MK elected to replace Yariv Levin as Knesset Speaker.

The new coalition government led by Prime Minister-elect Naftali Bennett has won Knesset backing, paving the way for the the new government Sunday night.

Bennett became Israel's thirteenth prime minister Sunday night, ending Benjamin Netanyahu's more than 12 consecutive years in power.

Join BJL on WhatsApp Status: Click here to Join BJL status for engagements, births, deals, levayos, events & more

Join BJL on WhatsApp Groups: Click here to Join an official BJL WhatsApp group for breaking news as it happens

Sixty MKs voted in favor of the new government, with 59 lawmakers voting against. While the government is set to include 61 MKs – an absolute majority in the 120-member Knesset, MK Said al-Harumi (United Arab List/Ra’am) abstained from the vote.

The Joint Arab List joined the Likud, Shas, United Torah Judaism Party, and Religious Zionist Party in voting against the new government. One Yamina MK, Amichai Chikli, voted against the government.

Shortly after the Knesset counted the votes, Bennett was sworn in as Prime Minister, with Yair Lapid sworn in as alternate prime minister. Lapid is slated to rotate in as prime minister in two years. Read more at Arutz-7